Even WWF Pakistan Failed.

Living in Pakistan, we know how usually minor organizations fail to impress us, mostly due to their lack of  advancement and modernization’; but this time, I was surprised to see even the World Wildlife Fund for Nature (WWF) failed to meet my expectations.

So, as students, we were doing our jobs i.e, sitting in the class, passing paper planes, breaking bathroom door knobs and beating the $%!@ out of the other classmates (yeah, too much info, right?), when our principal entered the class. She smiled at us for behaving ‘well’ (Hahahaha, yeah, we have a thing for sitting quietly and cleaning the class within 5 seconds of seeing the principal outside :D). Then, she announced that WWF will be coming over to our school after the exams and we can choose to enter in the internship programme for a fees of 500 PKR. I guess, half of us had no idea about what was to happen, three quarters who entered just for fun, and the whole of class who didn’t know what ‘internship’ meant. :P

I signed up for it since my friends did it too, and I thought I could pass my time in the summers by participating in the oh so international organization’s activities, but who knew it was never as anyone expected. We were given six dates, on which we had to come from 2:00 – 5:00 pm PST. The first one was on the 16th of June, and damn I sure was happy =/ I kept reminding my parents and begging them that I had to go there, until they finally agreed and the next day I was securely dropped at my school. I looked at my watch, I was ten minutes late and rushed in with my cellphone in the pocket, trying to leap out of it. By a few teachers, I was shown my way into the Library (that had nothing but ladybug’s books. Oh, and penguin!).

This is where my first disappointment started.

I walked inside the dark gloomy room as the lights were fluctuating and took my place in front of my friend. There were three females there, who introduced themselves and apparently, I forgot their names (or maybe didn’t bother to remember them, same thing anyhow!). From what I observed, two of them were just there because they had nothing better to do at home, and really, they didn’t have a drop of confidence. Started asking the students their names and favorite animals.. Here’s what I recall what a few students said.

My name is Mahrukh and I love cats!

Hello.. Um.. My name is.. Um.. Mahwish and er.. I.. like kittens

My name is Shehrzad and I have a thing for cats and kittens :D (yeah, we all know that sounds wrong. No, really, it does)

My name is Misbah and I love cats (again and again *yawn*)

Then, it was my turn, what I said didn’t mean I hate cats or rabbits or dogs and anyone that you find sooo cute (oh wait, maybe with this emotion) soo cuuute =3. Rather, it’s really what I prefer over those :D

“My name is Ziad Shafi, and I find Bears and Birds interesting” w00t!!! HI FI MATE, BEARS ARE SO AWESOME xD

Okay, since I changed the theme from cats to other animals that existed on the Earth, my friend behind me stood up “My name is Omer Khan and I like Snakes.” Yeah, hisss at you, &^*!$&^%!, I know you love cats!

We were given 20 short questions to answer in a short time, and I think I did half of it on fluke. Then, one of them, the one that WAS actually confident, started to ask a few questions, and was impressed by my ‘vast’ knowledge (Thank you, Wikipedia!). Oh, and knowledge such as who is the national animal and all that  :/ This took a whole hour and a half, and it was getting hot each minute. They gave us a break and biscuits with cumin in them. I passed mine back to my friend to devoured the second one aswell. I started texting my friend about how this much sucked, and by the time he asked why, the break was over so couldn’t reply back ^^ We were then shown the documentary about the Indus Blind Doplhins, their past, present and future, their status and threats, and finally how to save them. The only part I enjoyed watching was the past, since the speakers stopped working halfway the documentary.

*cough* Let me begin now :D The super continent Pangaea broke up into the continents, and the Subcontinent (present day India and Pakistan) joined Asia, a little part of the ocean was blocked and formed a lake. The ancient Pakicetus, four legged amphibian found out he could survive better in water, started adapting to the lake and evolved into a dolphin. However, this lake dried up and the river Indus and Ganges were formed, freshwater, but muddy. The dolphins’ eyes became useless and were reduced to only slits, thus losing their vision. They developed a Sonar Ray system, releasing sonic waves from their jaws to detect obstacles and prey, and thus started hunting by this advanced method.

Anyways, after this they divided the rest into groups and assigned me one aswell. I guess I was the undisputed Group Leader and presenter of this :P I made the girl write on the chart paper while feeding her with info about the dolphins, while the other two remained inactive. I guess there was nothing much left really, I came and took the mic and did the presentation, sat back and watched others do it. I really think mine was the best anyhow :D I still was disappointed by this and think WWF should make a better effort to make sure people actually recruit in their organization, and things don’t happen in their favour especially with a room that has no lights and speakers that don’t work, oh and maybe two who have no confidence and just sat there texting their friends the whole time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

